Guyana patent application




Release time:2016-05-31


Guyana is located in the northeastern part of South America, known as the Republic of Guyana (Republic of Guyana), which became independent from the United Kingdom in 1966. Indian meaning for "more water town". Nationals are mainly Hindustani and black, mostly Christian, Hindu and Islamic. It is the only country in South America with English as its official language and is a member of the Commonwealth.

Guyana is bordered by Suriname to the east, Brazil to the south, Venezuela to the west and the Atlantic Ocean to the north. In particular, Venezuela has repeatedly claimed that the land west of the Essequibo River, Western Guiana (about 2/3 of the area of Guyana), belongs to Venezuela.

Although Guyana is located in South America and is a member of the Union of South American Nations, it has traditionally and historically had close relations with the Caribbean islands.

Guyana covers an area of more than 215000 square kilometres. Located in northeastern South America. It borders Venezuela to the northwest, Brazil to the south, Suriname to the east, and the Atlantic Ocean to the northeast.


diplomatic national policy

Pursue an independent and non-aligned foreign policy and develop friendly and cooperative relations with other countries. The goal is to safeguard national sovereignty, territorial integrity and independence, promote national economic and social development, and create a good international image.

Attaching importance to relations with Caribbean countries and South American neighbors, and striving to make Guyana a bridge connecting Caribbean and South American countries. To develop relations with the United States and Europe as the focus of foreign policy. It advocates the development of friendly relations with all countries in the world, actively participates in the activities of the Non-Aligned Movement, the Commonwealth and the United Nations, advocates the establishment of a "new global human order", and enhances Guyana's influence and status in the international political arena. It is a member of the Caribbean Community, the Caribbean Development Bank, the Union of South American States and the Inter-American Development Bank.


Relations with China

On June 27, 1972, China and Guyana established diplomatic relations.

The friendly and cooperative relations between the two countries have developed smoothly. In September 2011, Vice Premier Wang Qishan met with President Jagdeo during the opening ceremony of the third China-Caribbean Economic and Trade Cooperation Forum in Trinidad and Tobago. In June 2012, Zhang Gaoli, member of the Political Bureau of the CPC Central Committee and Secretary of the Tianjin Municipal Committee, visited Gui. In June 2013, during President Xi Jinping's visit to Trinidad and Tobago, he held a bilateral meeting with Prime Minister Lamotta of Guyana.